"The International Tribute of Lawyers to a Lawyer"

Ludovic-Trarieux International Human Rights Prize 2019

Ludovic-Trarieux International-Human Rights Prize 2019
Premio Internacional de Derechos Humanos Ludovic Trarieux 2019
Premio Internazionale per i Diritti Umani Ludovic Trarieux 2019

Internationalen Ludovic-Trarieux-Menschenrechtspreis 2019

Prêmio Internacional de Direitos Humanos Ludovic Trarieux 201
9Ludovic Trarieux International Mensenrechtenprijs 2019

Since/Since/Desde/Dal/Sinds 1984

"The lawyers' tribute to a lawyer"
The tribute by lawyers to a lawyer ""
El homenaje de abogados a un abogado "
" L'omaggio degli avvocati ad un avvocato
"" Die Hommage von Anwelten zu einem Anwal
t "" De award geg even advocaten aan een advocaat "


The Price

Created in 1984, the prize is awarded annually jointly by the Institute of Human Rights of the Bar of Bordeaux, the Institute of Training in Human Rights of the Paris Bar, the Institute of Human Rights of the Brussels Bar, the Unione forense per tutela dei diritti dell'uomo (Rome) the Rechtsanwaltskammer berlin, the Luxembourg Bar, the Geneva Bar, the Amsterdam Bar association as well as the International Union of Lawyers (UIA) and the Institute of Human Rights of European Lawyers (IDHAE), contribute to the endowment of the prize (20,000 euros).

One year after its creation, the First Prize was awarded on 27 March 1985 to Nelson Mandela, who had been imprisoned for 23 years in South Africa. It was officially handed over to his daughter on April 27, 1985. It was then the first prize awarded to him in France and the first in the world by fellow lawyers. Five years later, on February 11, 1990, Nelson Mandela was released. From that date, the prize was awarded again.

The prize was awarded in 2018 to Iranian lawyer Nasrin SOTOUDEH, who was sentenced to 38 years in prison and 148 lashes.

It is the oldest and most prestigious of the awards reserved for a lawyer since its origin goes back to the message of Ludovic Trarieux (1840-1904), founder, in 1898, at the time of the Dreyfus Affair, the "League of Human Rights and the Citizen ": was not only the isolated cause of a man who was to be defended, it was, behind this cause, the law, justice, humanity."

Successive winners have been:

1985: Nelson MANDELA (South Afri
ca)1992: Augusto Z-IGA PAZ (Pe
ru) 1994: Jadranka CIGELJ (Bosnia-Herze
govina)1996 Nejib HOSNI (Tunisia) and Dalila MEZIAN
E (Algeria).1998 ZHOU Gu
oqiang (China)2000 Esber YAGMU
RDER Digna OCHOA and Bu
rbara ZAMORA (Mexico)2004: Akhtam NAISSE
(Syria)2005: Henri BURIN
DES ROZIERS (Brazil)2006: Parvez I
MROZ (India)200 7: René
Gomez MANZANO (Cuba)2008: U AY
E MYINT (Burma)2009: Be
atrice MTETWA (Zimbabwe)2010: K
arinna MOSKALENKO (Russia)2011
: Fethi TERBIL (Libya)201
2: Muharrem ERBEY (Turkey)20
13: Vadim KURAMSHIN (Kazakhstan)
2014: Mahienour el-MASSRY (Egyp
t)2015: Waleed Abu al-KHAIR (Saudi Ara
bia)2016: WANG Yu (China)-Re
jected2017: Mohammed al-ROKEN (United Arab
Emirates)20 SOTOUDEH (Iran)

2019: Rommel Daen Castellanos (Colombia)